Select Page

Loading Events

« All Events

The Stories We Carry—Virtual Exhibition

Fri, September 30, 2022Tue, December 31, 2030

For over half a century, the Institute of American Indian Arts (IAIA) has fostered an environment where emerging Indigenous artists have had the freedom to develop the means to tell their own stories in their own ways. The unique format of jewelry has played a large role in storytelling as it is a deeply human practice that gives people the tools to carry their histories and identities—a powerful reminder to ourselves and to others who we are.

The Stories We Carry features contemporary jewelry created by more than 100 Indigenous artists across decades stewarded by the IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA) permanent collection. Guest curated by IAIA Assistant Professor Brian Fleetwood (Mvskoke Creek) ’12, the exhibition explores the extraordinarily diverse recent history of Indigenous jewelry and its enduring relationship with IAIA. Many of the works were made by IAIA students, faculty, alumni, and artists-in-residence presenting another side to the IAIA’s rich story. The Stories We Carry is part of the Making History anniversaries celebration.

In 2022, the Institute of American Indian Arts (IAIA) celebrates its sixtieth, and the IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA), celebrates its fiftieth anniversary. When you join IAIA or MoCNA for any public event, be it the IAIA Commencement, IAIA Scholarship Event and Auction, MoCNA Opening Reception for Summer Exhibitions, IAIA’s Annual Open House, or any other exhibition or event, you will also be joining us in celebrating our 60/50 Anniversary—Making History.

For more information, please contact IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA) Curator of Collections Tatiana Lomahaftewa-Singer at

List of Artists

Larry Ahvakana (Iñupiaq) ’69
Richard Aitson (Kiowa/Apache) ’70
Norman Albert (Diné) ’84
Marcus Amerman (Choctaw) ’83
Roger Amerman (Choctaw)
Joseph Antone (Tohono O’odham) ’72
Dennis Apple (Lakota Sioux)
Keith Baldwin (Diné) ’86
Victor Beck, Sr. (Diné)
Nicolas Begay (Diné) ’21
Nathan Scott Begaye (Diné/Hopi) ’80
Heidi BigKnife (neé Rankin) (Shawnee) ’92
Russell Box, Jr. (Ute) ’86
April Dawn Brass (Swampy Cree)
Bennie Buffalo (Southern Cheyenne) ’68
Paige Busick (Chickasaw), current student
Juan Caté (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo)
Serena Charlie-Hena (Ohkay Owingeh/Diné) ’80
Phyllis Chavez (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’86
George Clark (Diné)
Mike Concha (Taos Pueblo) ’67
Lorenzo Coriz (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’68
Raymond Coriz (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’73
Ralph Cornelius (Oneida-Wisconsin) ’88
George Crawford (Blackfeet/Piikani) ’67
Jaycee Custer (Diné) ’21
Bernice Dahl (Inupiaq) ’96
Richard Glazer Danay (Mohawk)
Denise Davenport (Mesquakie) ’85
Donna Eagle (Oglala Lakota) ’73
Earl Eder (Yanktonai Sioux) ’66
Marshall Ellis (Oneida of Wisconsin) ’77
Carly Feddersen (Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation) ’16
Brian Fleetwood (Mvskoke), faculty ’15–present, ’12
Gabriel Galvan (Zia Pueblo) ’69
Andrew Anthony Garcia (Ohkay Owingeh/Diné) ’78
Wayne Nez Gaussoin (Picuris Pueblo/Diné) ’09, A-i-R ’21
Paulette Greene (Nakota) ’75
Robert Gress, Jr. (Crow) ’87
Mark Herndon, faculty ’05–’15
Debra Herrera (neé Riddle) (Modoc/Paiute) ’98
Robin Hill (Seneca), current student
Herbert Him (Zuni Pueblo) ’73
Mark Swazo Hinds (Pueblo of Tesuque) ’81
Mark Holiday (Diné) ’02
Lyle Honanie (Hopi) ’71
James Honyaktewa (Hopi) ’68
Manuel Hoyunga (Hopi) ’72
Bruce Ignacio (Ute) ’70
Barbara Jettice (Spokane)
Edward Joe (Cowichan) ’01
Kenneth Johnson (Muscogee/Seminole) A-i-R ’18
Deborah Jojola (Pueblo of Isleta) ’82
Jennifer Juan (Diné) ’98
Eunice M. Kahn (Diné) ’80
Kevin Kahn (Diné) ’78
Thomas Merle Keyes (Caddo Nation of Oklahoma) ’96
Gilbert Kellywood (Ohkay Owingeh) ’67
Melvin Kiogima (Ottawa) ’73
Kim Knife Chief (neé Price) (Pawnee/Otoe/Kaw) ’03
David LaPlantz, faculty ’67–’68
Melva Largo (Diné) ’82
Sam Leader Charge (Sighangu Brulé)
Charles Loloma (Hopi), faculty ’62–’65
Estella Loretto (Jemez Pueblo) ’72
Anthony Lovato (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’78, A-i-R ’17
J. Lucero (Jemez Pueblo) ’70
Mike Madelena (Jemez Pueblo)
Charles Marchand (Colville)
Franco Martinez (Wasco/Pitt River/Warm Spring Paiute) ’85
Raymond Martinez (Ohkay Owingeh) ’68
Christine McHorse (neé Nofchissey) (Diné) ’68
Peter Mesteth (Oglala Lakota) ’69
Jerome Nakagawa (Diné/Japanese), current student
Peter Nez (Diné) ’73
Ed Archie NoiseCat (Salish) A-i-R ’15
Jerry Norton (Native Alaskan) ’65
Ron Olguin (Pueblo of Isleta) ’84
Veronica Orr (Colville/Lytton Band of Pomo Indians) ’64
Eddie Pacheco (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’72
Nelson Pacheco (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’73
Ramos Pacheco (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’68
Jennifer Parriette (Lakota Sioux/Ute) ’82
Thomas Pecos (Jemez Pueblo) ’70
Jennifer Peters, current student
D’Kota Potter (Jemez Pueblo), current student
Gabrielle Pourier (Lakota Sioux) ’80
Kevin Pourier (Oglala Lakota) ’80, A-i-R ’14
Teresa Kaulaity Quintana (Kiowa Tribe of Oklahoma) ’13
Charlene Reano (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’92
Jeremy Red Eagle (Sisseton Wahpeton Oyate), current student
Delfino Reyna (Taos Pueblo) ’67
Richard Kendall Rice (Mescalero Apache/Potawatomi) ’72
Mary Ann Rogers (Blackfeet) ’70
Dee Ross (Athabascan) ’80
Jessie Ryker-Crawford (White Earth Chippewa) ’00
Randall Sahmie (Hopi-Tewa)’69
Fritz Scholder (Luiseño), faculty ’63-’67
Emily Schuyler (Oneida Nation of the Thames), current student
Steven Sockyma (Hopi)
Sonwai (neé Verma Nequatewa) (Hopi)
Carolyn Suina (Cochiti Pueblo) ’68
Ramus Suina (Cochiti Pueblo) ’68
Isaac Tait (Nisga’a)
James Tenorio (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’69
Marciano Tenorio (Kewa/Santo Domingo Pueblo) ’73
Ray Tracey (Diné)
Roger Tsabetsaye (Zuni Pueblo) ’63
Richard J.Tsosie (Diné)
Jack Turquoise (Diné) ’69
Velma Wahtomy (Shoshone/Bannock) ’74, ’80
Lori Waisanen (Iñupiaq) ’96
Denise Wallace (Chugach Aleut) ’82
Harold Walters (Comanche/Diné) ’64
Jodi Webster (Ho-Chunk/Prairie Band Potawatomi), A-i-R ’19
Lutz Whitebird (Southern Cheyenne) ’78
Sola Williams (Jamaican)
Billie Jo Wounded Face (Gros Ventre/Mandan) ’69
Johnny Yazzie (Diné) ’77
Rose Yazzie (Diné) ’72
Stanley Yazzie (Diné) ’84
Tiara Yazzie (Diné), current student
Virginia Zamora (Ecuadorian), current student
 Denise Wallace (Chugach Aleut), <em>Craftsperson Belt</em>, 1992, ivory, gemstones, silver. IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts Collection: AT-58. Photograph by Jason S. Ordaz.

Denise Wallace (Chugach Aleut), Craftsperson Belt, 1992, ivory, gemstones, silver. IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts Collection: AT-58. Photograph by Jason S. Ordaz.


Fri, September 30, 2022
Tue, December 31, 2030
Event Category:


IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA)
108 Cathedral Place
Santa Fe, NM 87501 United States
(888) 922-4242


IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts (MoCNA)
(888) 922-4242